Dream-Design-Do

let's get crafty

$Thirty-what?! Making Your own American Girl Doll Dress

American Girl Doll cabled dress
I haven’t updated for awhile, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy. My latest knitting creation was an American Girl doll dress for my niece for Christmas. It was definitely my most challenging project so far, but not necessarily because it incorporated anything new (besides maybe buttonholes). Rather, it combined a lot of the knitting skills I’ve developed (cabling, knitting in the round, working with smaller yarn) into one project.

For most of the time that I worked on it, I did not have access to a doll to try it out on, so I knit a gauge swatch first and then just did my best to trust the pattern. The night before we exchanged gifts on the holDSCN4699idays, I stayed up until 2:30 sewing on buttons and weaving on ends. With everyone else long asleep, I got to revel alone in the joy that all my hours put into this project paid off with a perfect fit!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2014 by in knitting, Uncategorized.
